• Hi all. We have had reports of member's signatures being edited to include malicious content. You can rest assured this wasn't done by staff and we can find no indication that the forums themselves have been compromised.

However, remember to keep your passwords secure. If you use similar logins on multiple sites, people and even bots may be able to access your account.

We always recommend using unique passwords and enable two-factor authentication if possible. Make sure you are secure.
  • Be sure to join the discussion on our discord at: Discord.gg/serebii
  • If you're still waiting for the e-mail, be sure to check your junk/spam e-mail folders

Advice on how to write canon/oc plus rambling

Hey!

So I’ll start off with this: I do want to be able to work with canon characters again, however my anxiety about this stems from the fact that I am a free spirited writer, and with established characters I don’t have much of a free spirited approach like I do with my humanoid Pokémon characters or even the team grunt characters.

That and some readers do get upset if the characters are OOC because it’s not what was expected. Like if I were to write a fic that involves Paul, you would want to see him being badass and stuff not smiling at puppies, right?

Now that we are on the subject of Paul though, I had this story in mind that he travels to unova to enter the unova league and meets a girl who helps him through the process, however, because of her free spirit personality and that she doesn’t most things seriously, he had no interest in communicating with her. That and because she thought he was a rookie trainer due to him having no unova badges. However after overhearing that this annoying trainer was a battle tower boss from Black City and the leader of her local battle club, he quietly follows her to watch her battles.