• Hi all. We have had reports of member's signatures being edited to include malicious content. You can rest assured this wasn't done by staff and we can find no indication that the forums themselves have been compromised.

However, remember to keep your passwords secure. If you use similar logins on multiple sites, people and even bots may be able to access your account.

We always recommend using unique passwords and enable two-factor authentication if possible. Make sure you are secure.
  • Be sure to join the discussion on our discord at: Discord.gg/serebii
  • If you're still waiting for the e-mail, be sure to check your junk/spam e-mail folders

Style of writing or Bad writing?

RoflLuxRay

Pokemon Physiologist
Big question here, it's been troubling me for weeks now.

I've been a writer for quite a while, since I was 16 or something (I'm 21 now) but wrote mostly in Spanish. Ever since then, I've read other work and tried to learn from it, but I always end up critisizing a particular part of it, being the lack of description or any other small detail that jumps to me. But then I notice that the book I'm reading is a tremendously famous book acclaimed by thousands across the world.

I'm not trying to put myself above great writers such as Gabriel García Márquez or Octavio Paz, but this really troubles me whenever people point out that either I'm giving too much of something or too little, i.e critisizing my writing "style" when other people made it to the top with a "style" somewhat similar to mine.

Is that a reader prejudice? Do different readers have different styles they prefer? Or am I just overanalyzing this and should get back to writing?

I would love to hear opinions regarding this subject.

Kutie Pie

"It is my destiny."