• Hi all. We have had reports of member's signatures being edited to include malicious content. You can rest assured this wasn't done by staff and we can find no indication that the forums themselves have been compromised.

However, remember to keep your passwords secure. If you use similar logins on multiple sites, people and even bots may be able to access your account.

We always recommend using unique passwords and enable two-factor authentication if possible. Make sure you are secure.
  • Be sure to join the discussion on our discord at: Discord.gg/serebii
  • If you're still waiting for the e-mail, be sure to check your junk/spam e-mail folders

Transitioning as a Pokemon Fan

SteveYoung

This is by way my introduction but also my reason for joining the forum hoping to get some discourse in what is for me a very changed pokemon world. I am not sure how far I want to take pokemon, I am an older trainer playing red and yellow versions and boy things sure have changed. Having grown up a little and given the nature I remember loving my red version in hospital and completing the pokedex.

Now though I am older and the storylines don't really do it it for me like the old days though I admit they have significantly improved and I also wish to challenge myself more. At this point in my journey as a 'trainer' I understand to break the fourth wall completely as a player one should understand pokemon as a game of numbers. Types, stats, ev values, natures, held items, battle items, abilities and the rest of it beyond the aesthetics of the game really represent a few algorithms that basically determine whether you win or lose. Not to try and say strategy, tactics and at times perhaps even luck play apart after all we have all suffered that wayward critical hit (entropy).