1. We have moved to a new forum system. All your posts and data should have transferred over. Welcome, to the new Serebii Forums. Details here
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Be sure to join the discussion on our discord at: Discord.gg/serebii
    Dismiss Notice
  3. If you're still waiting for the e-mail, be sure to check your junk/spam e-mail folders
    Dismiss Notice

What's The Best Place to Start?

Discussion in 'Pokémon Manga Discussion' started by midnightslade, Apr 14, 2008.

1. midnightslade

midnightslade Well-Known Member

So I just got done reading Best of Red and Yellow and I've got to say, I'm hooked. I also just finished to Diamond and Pearl Adventures (which I understand is not related to PokeSpecial).

So my question is, where is a good place to go from here? Has PokeSpecial Diamond & Pearl released any volumes (in english) yet or are they still just in the magazines? If it doesn't have any volumes yet, what arc would you recommend? GSC? RS? Or that Emerald arc? I'm new to all this, so any and all suggestions welcomed.

2. brelili

brelili Call me Bri.

Well! D/P hasn't been released in volume form yet, but you're probably more familiar with the original characters, (Red, Green etc.) FireRed/Leafgreen is great, lots of action and general awesomeness. It also has a 2nd gen character, Silver, in it, so you might want to read up a little bit about him before you read.

3. Kaika

Kaika Haters gonna hate

It requires saving up alot of money, but I would suggest starting from the begining, and buying all of the volumes of both the Red and Yellow arcs because many important plot points were missed in the "Best of" volumes, from there, G/S/C, and so fourth. You wouldn't have to worry about ruby and Sapphire- but because Fire red and Leaf Green ended in a cliffhanger that will be resolved in the emerald arc- you might as well.

I guess in other words you'll have to buy the whole series- but at least start with buying the Red and Yellow arcs.