• Hi all. We have had reports of member's signatures being edited to include malicious content. You can rest assured this wasn't done by staff and we can find no indication that the forums themselves have been compromised.

However, remember to keep your passwords secure. If you use similar logins on multiple sites, people and even bots may be able to access your account.

We always recommend using unique passwords and enable two-factor authentication if possible. Make sure you are secure.
  • Be sure to join the discussion on our discord at: Discord.gg/serebii
  • If you're still waiting for the e-mail, be sure to check your junk/spam e-mail folders

When Making a Team: Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Psychic

Really and truly
I'm not a huge expert in team-building, but I figured I'd post some of the basic strategies to keep in mind when deciding on your team just so there's a permanent reference and it doesn't have to be repeated all the time. Note that this is mainly for competitive battling. Also stealing a few things from the old sticky by Sir Chris. w00t.

When Choosing Pokémon:

1. Try to choose Pokémon of as many types as possible for your team. That way you'll be more prepared for opponents of every type. If your entire team is Flying and Grass types, you'll be in big trouble when you have to fight an Ice type or even a Poison or Electric type.

2. Make sure not all the Pokémon have the same weaknesses! Just because you're picking a team with different types doesn't mean you're out of the woods! Jolteon, Corsola, Arcanine, Golem, Muk, and Magcargo might sound like a good, diverse team, but each of these Pokémon is weak to Ground attacks, giving your team a big disadvantage.