• Hi all. We have had reports of member's signatures being edited to include malicious content. You can rest assured this wasn't done by staff and we can find no indication that the forums themselves have been compromised.

However, remember to keep your passwords secure. If you use similar logins on multiple sites, people and even bots may be able to access your account.

We always recommend using unique passwords and enable two-factor authentication if possible. Make sure you are secure.
  • Be sure to join the discussion on our discord at: Discord.gg/serebii
  • If you're still waiting for the e-mail, be sure to check your junk/spam e-mail folders

Writing Flashbacks

PokeN3rd

Not Gem King Kilik
Hi! I'm new around here, so that might explain why you've never heard of me. I'm a new writer getting into writing fan fictions, but I have a question before I go on with writing my own. That question is: How do you write flashbacks?

Myself, I've seen a lot of different ones. Some are in a third person story but they go to first person for the flashback, which I almost find confusing. Others stick to third person in a third person, or first in a first person. How do you choose which perspective to use when writing?

What is the process for writing them? If you're writing from third person perspective, do you write it like you would a non-flashback? Should you use italics when writing them? My final question, should the main character acknowledge the flashback or not?

Thanks for your time, and a quick search for a thread like this didn't come up so I figured it was alright to post it. Sorry if there was one and I missed it.

Super_Nerd

Writer of Stuff
Ah, flashbacks... how I adore thee.

IMO, flashbacking in first-person from a third-person story rather defeats the purpose; you might as well have the character narrate the entire experience and call it a day. I tend to think of them as being like any other scene, just set in the past.